Singer Needlebars and a Needleclamp Darning Spring

Last year I obtained a darning spring which is fixed in place of the needleclamp. It does not carry any part number but came to me amongst a collection of other Singer attachments in a box marked as being for a Singer 66. I had hoped to be able to use it on my main machine, a 201k but couldn’t get it over the needlebar. Neither would it fit my 222k nor my 15k. I didn’t have much luck online discovering whether the model 66 (and presumably 99) had a different needlebar to the 201k, the 15k and the Featherweights so now that I have discovered the answer for myself I am anxious to share it. The spring will fit a 28k and a 99k.

The important difference in the needlebars lies not in their diameter but in the design of the needleclamp and how it affixes to the lower end of the needlebar.

The 201k, 222k and 15k all have a needleclamp into which rests the final thread guide and the end of the needlebar is designed to accommodate this. See fig 1.

The 99k uses a much simpler design in which a longer portion of the lower end is milled away to a smaller diameter and it is this which will accept the needleclamp style of darning spring (fig 4). Fig 5 shows all three together.

I shall properly review its capabilities in a future, planned blog post covering darning/free motion embroidery methods, including a number of different feet and attachments including the Stoppax darning spring which I have recently obtained.

Fig 1 – Needlebar style of the 201k and 15k (needle side).

Fig 2 – Needlebar of a 99k (needle side).

Fig 3 – Needlebar of 99k (screw side).

Fig 4 – Darning Spring (showing circular cross section)

Fig 5 – L-R: Darning Spring, 99k needleclamp, 201k needleclamp.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phyllis Rosenwinkel
    Apr 04, 2015 @ 07:07:28

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to create and post these attachment tutorials!

    Reply

    • Offspring
      Apr 04, 2015 @ 08:20:54

      You’re most welcome, Phyllis, and I’m glad others are finding them helpful. I have a long list of new topics and attachments to review but my laptop is dying so I’m waiting until I have some newer, faster technology before attempting it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Offspring
    May 29, 2013 @ 12:05:47

    Hi Dominique, I tested all my zigzaggers on the 201k. Providing it’s got the right sort of presser foot attachment (normal, side-clamping low-shank type) then the Griest one will fit your 201k just fine – in fact the Griest is my favourite to date. Congratulations on getting such a great machine and thanks for visiting! 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  3. Dominique Urquhart
    May 28, 2013 @ 09:03:30

    hello great blog- really interesting for me as I have just bought a singer 201k. I was wondering which machine you tested your zigzag attachments on? I have seen a greist for sale and am not sure if it will fit my 201k?

    Reply

Any comments or suggestions for blog topics always welcome.

