Low Shank “Slim Jim” Sewing Machine Foot

A very exciting day for me today as Helen Howes has one again come up with the goods and provided me with something I have wanted for ages; a ‘Slim Jim’ presser foot. Although I knew, by definition, that it was a slender foot with equally-matched limbs it was still a pleasant surprise when I saw how dainty it actually is in the flesh and for this reason alone I have included a photograph which shows it next to the normal, hinged foot from my Singer 201k so that the two may be compared.

I have long wanted one as I often use the edge of the presser foot as a sewing guide and it is useful to have both prongs equal in width so that the foot will be a true guide in either direction.

The first thing I have tried it out on is baby run-and-fell seams and tiny, parallel pin tucks (see photograph). I predominantly sew baby clothes am working at a particularly small and dainty scale and having a foot which allows me to get right up close without the edge of the foot hitting and being distorted by the previous line of pintucking means I can make my pintucks smaller and closer than ever which I am particularly pleased about.

The only downside is one that can easily be remedied; because the foot is so tiny it makes much less contact with the feed dogs than feet which are wider and longer but this is easily rectified by simply tightening down the presser foot tension to compensate.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shayla Marie Sharp
    Jun 10, 2015 @ 05:55:51

    It does exist! I’d heard about them, but am still searching for one of my very own. Glad you got yours!

    Reply

    • Offspring
      Jun 10, 2015 @ 08:03:04

      I hope you get yours soon, Shayla. The only possible improvement would be a hinged version, to better ride over seams and bumps so do bear this in mind if you should ever be faced with a choice of two! 🙂 xxx

      Reply

Any comments or suggestions for blog topics always welcome.

